Platinum Sponsors

Our History


Water Polo is the oldest and longest standing team sport in the modern Olympics, having played at all modern Olympic Games since the 1900’s. Today both males and females are playing water polo in over 150 countries around the world. WA has been well represented at the playing and officiating level of the sport in national teams since Australia commenced competing in the Olympic movement.

Triton Water Polo Club was established in 1963 through the efforts of Cliff Hill, Jack Hausen, Frank Hamilton and Bill Wallace being based at Beatty Park since foundation. Season 1963/64 was the clubs first starting with a single D grade men’s side. In 1970/71 Les Nunn took control of the A grade team and just 3 years later Triton won the premiership.

The 1970’s were extremely successful years for Triton with the A grade men winning the title for five consecutive years and with Les Nunn, Eddie Brooks, Paul Williams and Richard Pengelley representing Australia during this time.The club continued to experience success during the 1980’s and 1990’s but has recently struggled due to a lack of facilities, supportive environment and long term strategy. The active rebuilding undertaken over the last three years has seen a significant improvement in the youth in the club and previous members returning to the club.

The culture within Triton is and has always been about providing a supportive environment for the players within the club to be the best they can be and to actively support the sport within the State. It is with this renewed focus that Triton is actively seeking new opportunities to provide a long term future for the club.

Triton Olympians

1964 (Tokyo) – Les Nunn

1972 (Munich) – Les Nunn

1976 (Montreal) – Eddie Brookes, Paul Williams

1980 (Moscow) – Martin Callaghan

1984 (Los Angeles) – Richard Pengelley, Glenn Townsend, Martin Callaghan

1988 (Seoul) – Richard Pengelley, Glenn Townsend

1992 (Barcelona) – Glenn Townsend, Mark Oberman, Paul Oberman

2000 (Sydney) – Mark Oberman

2000 (Sydney) - Bridgette Gusterson Danielle Woodhouse & Kate Hooper -  Gold Medallists

2005 (Melbourne) - Deaflympics - Geoff Scott, Gary Ware

2012 (London) - Victoria Brown



Life Members

1976 - Cliff Hill

1978 - Dennis Smith

1978 - Jim Whitehorn

1979 - Bill Wallace

1982 - Bill Richardson (dec.)

1983 - Wayne Motteram

1983 - Les Nunn

1984 - Paul Williams

1985 - Eddie Brooks

1986 - Peter McArthur

1992 - Betty Anderson

1992 - Richard Pengelley

1992 - Glenn Townsend

1999 - Ron Morelli

2000 - Michael Richards

2003 - David Richards

2006 - Jan Mercer (dec.)

2006 - Jon Mercer

2008 - Vinko Matkovich

2012 - Danielle Woodhouse

2018 - David St George, Mark Oberman, Paul          Oberman and Jen Oberman